Stepping Styles

Mummers Play

Broom Dance

Background

Video Clips

Local Map

Dances

Home

Music

Links

The Diary

To contact us     Email


WDBM

The Scrapbook

Prague 2014

Diary Page   2015

This is the 2015 diary for Winterbourn Down Border Morris. The status shows whether a commitment has been made to dance at the event. The comments are for any snippets about or after the event. Further information will be added as it becomes available.

We practise most Mondays; But in the summer we alternate practices in the village hall with practices at local pubs - a schedule is posted  below. Regular practices in All Saints Church Hall start again some time in September.

Saturday 10th Jan

We were invited to Stroud Wassailing day. 13 of us plus Roland spent the morning dancing around Stroud with half a dozen other sides. We learnt a bit more about the many different types of Wassailing. Finishing in time to have a good lunch at The Old Lodge Minchinhampton  Common.

Thursday 16th April

Practice at North Road Primary School

Saturday 18th April


Bristol JMO Day of Dance

Friday 1st May

Downend Beaver Group

Stroud Wassailing day

Saturday 2nd May

Upton on Severn Folk Festival

Monday 4th May

Winterbourne Down Carnival

Monday 11th May

The Swan   at  Swineford BS30 6LN

Dance out with Priston Jubilee Morris

Tuesday 2nd June         The Tunnel HouseInn  at  Coats GL7 6PW

                                   Dance out with Styx Morris

Monday 8th June          The Upton     at Upton Cheyney BS30 6LY

Monday 15th June         The Riverside   at Saltford  BS31 3EZ


Friday 19th – Sunday 21st June     Teignmouth Folk Festival  


Monday 29th June  Dance out at The Rose & Crown Pucklechurch


Monday 6th July   Dance out at The  Beaufort, Hawkesbury Upton  GL9 1AU


Saturday 18th July  Frampton Cotterell Festival  


Sunday 20th September  Tetbury Food Festival  


Sunday 4th October  Orchard Day Winterbourne Medieval Barn


Saturday 26th December  Boxing Day dancing with the mummers of Winterbourne Down


20th July - last dance out before summer break?  Old Royal Ship at Luckington

Enjoyed our trip to the seaside, not many ice-creams though, but we had to drink a lot because of the sun-shine.(Ha Ha Ha)  After two days of dancing from dawn to dust we were glade when we took off our bells.

13th July             Dance out a  The Anchor at  Oldbury on Severn

Smiley faces before the village carnival.

What a day we had In Bristol! Finale in Millennium Square with the Widders! A view from the mirror ball.

Here’s a youtube link by Alex Turner of Hugh’s Mistake

https://youtu.be/0NaiQgp6G74

Saturday 5th December - Christmas on the Hill Staple Hill Carnival



Starting with the procession again this year we had a great reaction from the crowds with a fantastic atmosphere. 


Our procession dance well honed worked well and gave a glimpse of more to come for those who followed us to the square.


It was our first opportunity to dance the 12 up version of “Upton Stick” which went well and was well received judging by the applause and reaction of the crowds.


Another good pre-Christmas performance giving us the chance to practise for Boxing Day and have a jolly good time too!!

Although the crowds were not as big the enthusiasm was still as good, we like to thank all the people who put some money in the buckets. We were up by £200 making it £689